Self Talk

I have spent some recent blogs discussing the power of words to impact our lives psoitively or negatively. I consider this regularily as I deal with different kinds of people daily. My words can impact my students so I want my words to be encouraging, kind, instructive, inspirational.

Sometimes the words the students say about themselves cause me to correct them. I don’t just mean correct their grammar – I mean correct them deeply.

It is quite usual to get students who will put up their hands and say”Forgive me for asking this dumb question but…” or something similar. They do this because they are new to higher education and because they do not have confidence in their own understanding. I try to let them know I am on their side and want to clarify the topic and am glad to do so. Once they believe this, they ask without insulting themselves publically.

Often they say “I am not very good at writing” or ” I never was good at English”. They actually believe that their past performance will affect their present performance. This is not necessarily true. I spend the first class trying to show them I believe in them. I give them opportunities to learn – meaning if they will put the effort into writing, I will let them do a rewrite. This means they can comfortably learn and express themseves without fear. As they realize they can ask me for help with assignments, and they do, I find they are learning not only my subject but also that if the first attempt isn’t perfect, it is not a defeat but an opportunity to learn. Some of these students who lack confidence in writing have tremendous confidence in other areas of their expertise.

What we say about ourselves can limit or inspire us. Our words can determine and do determine our destiny. If we say we can’t, we are most likely going to fail. If we say we are not very good, we most likely will be average or below average. You directly hera your own voice speaking and what you say becomes what you actually believe. It is so important that we speak positive things about ourselves. It is so important that at the bottom of it – you are on your side. A person who can encourage and build up himself or herself is someone that can accomplish anything.

Past performance does not mean you are limited to it. If athletes believed this, there would be no professional athletes or Olympics. We should be continuously trying to improve ourselves in all areas of our lives. We should face each day with excitement knowing we can accomplish something, beyond the day before. Try your best and cheer yourself on by inwardly saying :You can do it”.

Self Talk is normal. Most people talk to themselves. It is a way of examining and learning about a situation or task. Positive self talk is not so normal. Most people utter cuss words about themselves or negative words. If we just stopped and checked ourselves concerning negative self talk we would win more victories. Adding positive comments would ensure success and a positive attitude.

Becoming your own best life coach should be a goal we should hold on to. I know not everyone is ready to jump in there but we can start by examining the words we speak. Is there any negative self talk? It can not remain if we are to grow beyond our present condition.

Start inserting affirming phrases into your self talk : You are pretty good at that.” “Keep it up” ” Good job” . This doesn’t mean we become pompus or arrogant. Your number one cheer leader should be you.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

